German Rolls-WEIZENBRÖTCHEN

25 Dec

Closeup   These German style rolls were adapted from a recipe on Karin Hanseata’s blog.  Her blog is filled with inspired baking so I urge you to visit and explore her adventures.

I found these rolls to by very similar to Kaiser style rolls with a nice hard crust and soft interior, perfect for sandwiches.

Main

I of course had to change a couple of things since I just can’t seem to help myself.  I use 150 grams of my apple/cherry Yeast Water in place of part of the water and I cut the yeast down to 5 grams to compensate.  I also made 8 slightly larger rolls versus the 10 she suggested.

For the toppings I used toasted onions, black sesame seeds, Asiago cheese and flax seeds.  I decided to try to get in the holiday spirit so I used a snowflake cookie cutter on some of the rolls for added effect.

I was very happy with the way these turned out.  The use of the 00 Caputo flour really creates a unique crumb structure in these rolls and I’ve been eating sandwiches all week on these tasty rolls.

Crumb

This post has been submitted to the Yeast Spotting Site here: http://www.wildyeastblog.com/category/yeastspotting/.

 

7 Responses to “German Rolls-WEIZENBRÖTCHEN”

  1. Karin Anderson January 2, 2014 at 8:46 pm #

    And the crumb looks just right! Good job, Ian.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Hamburger Onion Parmesan Buns Version 2 | mookielovesbread - April 5, 2014

    […] of the European style flour.  The idea would be to make the rolls a little harder similar to the German style rolls I had made last year which came out just like Kaiser rolls.  I also added some fresh ground Red […]

  2. German Style WEIZENBRÖTCHEN Bread | mookielovesbread - April 25, 2014

    […] A few days ago my wife decided to make her delicious meat sauce and I volunteered to make a bread to go with it.  I didn’t have time to create a starter so I made a straight dough based on the German Style rolls I have made before which I posted about here. […]

  3. WEIZENBRÖTCHEN Sourdough Version with Caramelized Onions | mookielovesbread - June 6, 2014

    […]   I love these rolls which were inspired by a recipe adapted from Karin Hanseata’s blog.  The first time I made them I changed a few things but mostly stuck to the original formula per this post. […]

  4. Brot & Bread: WEIZENBRÖTCHEN - GERMAN EVERYDAY ROLLS - My Collect Blog - September 27, 2019

    […] aus Mookie liebt Brot machte die Schrippe mit Fruchthefe Wasser und einer gerösteten Zwiebel, schwarzem Sesam, Asiago […]

  5. WEIZENBRÖTCHEN – GERMAN EVERYDAY ROLLS – Brot & Bread - November 20, 2021

    […] from Mookie Loves Bread made the rolls with fruit yeast water and a toasted onion, black sesame, Asiago cheese and flaxseed […]

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.