Rye Test Week 3–Wroclaw Trencher Bread (Poland) and Weinheim Carrot Bread (Germany)

22 Nov

MainWho knew there were so many different styles of rye bread?  This is just the third week of testing and I am continued to be amazed and impressed by the recipes in the new yet to be published book on international rye breads.

This week’s breads included one from Poland called Wroclaw Trencher bread which is meant to used as a plate to hold your meal.  This was by far the most sour tasting of any of the breads to date and would go great with a nice beef stew.

Crumb

 

The second bread for this week was the Weinheim Carrot bread.  Main

I have to admit I wasn’t sure how I would feel about a bread with carrots in it since I’m not a big fan of carrot cake, but you really don’t taste them very much.  This bread includes a whole bunch of seeds and other goodies and is a real nice and hearty loaf.  Definitely something I can see being very popular in Germany.

Closeup

Closeup2

CrumbShot

So far all of the breads I have made have been well received by my own gang of taste testers and I look forward to baking the next batch this week.

 

4 Responses to “Rye Test Week 3–Wroclaw Trencher Bread (Poland) and Weinheim Carrot Bread (Germany)”

  1. Karin Anderson December 8, 2014 at 2:02 pm #

    Interesting! I never had a bread with carrots in Germany. It looks very attractive.

    • mookielovesbread December 9, 2014 at 1:39 pm #

      Didn’t think I would like it but was pleasantly surprised. Not sure where Stan is digging some if these up from but they sure are interesting.

  2. Iratchka January 28, 2018 at 6:00 pm #

    Hi! How did you manage to keep it so shaped? Mine lost the form while in the oven

    • mookielovesbread February 2, 2018 at 2:51 am #

      So sorry for the late reply. I’ve been traveling for work and I’m in the airport in Frankfort Germany now. I probably used a basket to help with the shape but to be honest since this was a few years ago already I don’t recall exactly. Maybe lessen the water a little next time and make sure to create a tight seal when shaping.
      Regards,
      Ian

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.