Semolina Kamut Porridge Bread

11 Jul

Main   I wanted to make a Semolina bread for my Father-in-law to take back home with him to North Carolina so I figured he would enjoy a porridge version.  I’ve been making some version of porridge bread a lot lately since I love the creamy and moist crumb you get from using this technique.

I created a starter using AP flour and Semolina flour and in the main dough I also added some Kamut flour.

I followed the same basic technique I have been using for this style of bread and cut the water down a little from the last multi-grain version I made.  Apparently I didn’t cut it down enough since the final dough was very hydrated.  I made a mistake and let the dough over-proof slightly and when I went to put them in the oven both breads were very flat.  This caused a problem for me since I now couldn’t fit both on the bottom stone of my oven so one had to go on the top.  The one on the top ended up getting malformed due to trying to fit in on the bottom shelf first.  I used this loaf for the crumb shot.

The color of the final baked bread is not as dark as it should be since I ended up letting some steam out of the oven when trying to figure out how to bake both loaves at the same time.

Nevertheless, the bread tasted great and had a wonderful creamy texture inside.  An added benefit of this style of bread is that it really keeps fresh for at least 5-7 days.

I added some photos from my gardens below, as now is the time  most of the summer flowers are in bloom.

Coneflowers5

Enjoy.

 

Semolina Oatmeal Porridge Bread (%)

Semolina Oatmeal Porridge Bread (weights)

Here are the Zip files for the above BreadStorm files.

CloseupCrust

Levain Directions Build 1 (Using AP Starter at 66% Hydration for Seed)

Mix all the levain ingredients together  for about 1 minute and cover with plastic wrap.  Let it sit at room temperature for around 7-8 hours or until the starter has doubled.  I used my Proofer set at 81 degrees and it took about 4 hours.

Levain Directions Build 2

Add the remaining flour and water to the step 1 build and let set at room temperature of at 81 degrees in your Proofer until ready to use.  You can refrigerate it overnight or use it immediately in the main dough.  The Levain is ready when it has reached its peak and doubled in size with lots of activity.

Oat Porridge Directions

Add about 3/4’s of the water called for in the porridge to the dry ingredients in a small pot set to low and stir constantly until all the water is absorbed.  Add the remainder of the water and keep stirring until you have a nice creamy and soft porridge.  Remove from the heat and let it come to room temperature before adding to the dough.  I put mine in the refrigerator and let it cool quicker.

 

 Main Dough Procedure

Mix the flours   and the water for about 1 minute.  Let the rough dough sit for about 20 minutes to an hour.  Next add the levain, cooled porridge and salt and mix on low for 4 minutes and speed #2 for another 2 minutes or by hand for about 6 minutes.   You should end up with a cohesive dough that is slightly tacky but very manageable.  Remove the dough from your bowl and place it in a lightly oiled bowl or work surface and do several stretch and folds.  Let it rest covered for 10-15 minutes and then do another stretch and fold.  Let it rest another 10-15 minutes and do one additional stretch and fold.  After a total of 2 hours place your covered bowl in the refrigerator and let it rest for 12 to 24 hours.  (Since I used my proofer I only let the dough sit out for 1.5 hours before refrigerating).  Note: this is a pretty wet dough so you may need to do a couple of additional stretch and folds.

When you are ready to bake remove the bowl from the refrigerator and let it set out at room temperature still covered for 1.5 to 2 hours.  Remove the dough and shape as desired.

The dough will take 1.5 to 2 hours depending on your room temperature and will only rise about 1/3 it’s size at most.  Let the dough dictate when it is read to bake not the clock.

Around 45 minutes before ready to bake, pre-heat your oven to 550 degrees F. and prepare it for steam.  I have a heavy-duty baking pan on the bottom rack of my oven with 1 baking stone on above the pan and one on the top shelf.  I pour 1 cup of boiling water in the pan right after I place the dough in the oven.

Right before you are ready to put them in the oven, score as desired and then add 1 cup of boiling water to your steam pan or follow your own steam procedure.

After 5 minute lower the temperature to 450 degrees.  Bake for 35-50 minutes until the crust is nice and brown and the internal temperature of the bread is 205 degrees.

Take the bread out of the oven when done and let it cool on a bakers rack before for at least 2 hours before eating.

Crumb

 

Coneflower7

Coneflower1

Coneflowers2

Coneflowers4

Coneflower3

Coneflower6B

Coneflowers7

MiscFlowers1

This post has been submitted to the Yeast Spotting Site here: http://www.wildyeastblog.com/category/yeastspotting/.

4 Responses to “Semolina Kamut Porridge Bread”

  1. Karin Anderson July 13, 2014 at 9:22 pm #

    Very nice. I would like to bake them as hearth breads, too, but don’t want to risk the flattening. Did you try the combination farro porridge and hazelnuts, yet? It’s very tasty.

    • mookielovesbread July 14, 2014 at 11:03 am #

      Thanks Karin. I just pulled another one out of the oven and it came out much better. I decreased the water by about 56 grams and I baked it as a Miche. Have to wait until later to see if the crumb is as good as the previous.
      I actually don’t own the Tartine 3 book yet so I have not tried the hazelnuts version yet, but it sounds good.
      Look forward to your next post.
      Give this one a try and decrease the water slightly. It really tastes great. I love the creamy crumb from the porridge.
      Regards,
      Ian

      • Karin Anderson July 14, 2014 at 5:06 pm #

        I agree, it is a formula you can use with many different coarse ground grains or flakes. Since I couldn’t get farro flakes, I ground it coarsely in my little hand cranked mill, and cooked the porridge according to your instructions (looking up the water/farro ratio in my “Ancient Grains for Modern Meals” (great cookbook, by the way).
        I used the whole amount of prepared leaven, instead of just 75 grams for 1 loaf. If you are interested, I can mail you my take on that bread, I don’t know when I get to post anything about it.
        Still collecting the Götz von Berlichingen contributions, now also from Germany, it will be a hoot.

        • mookielovesbread July 14, 2014 at 5:54 pm #

          Sure…send me your formula I’d be interested in trying it.
          My second version of the Semolina loaf came out even better. The reduced water had little effect on the crumb which came out perfect. This is one of those breads you can eat by itself with nothing even on it.
          Look forward to seeing the roll-call for the Gotz von Berlichingen!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.