No Oven–Spelt Kamut Cream Cheese Onion Bread

20 Dec

dsc_0106

Note to self:  Don’t bake bread in your Weber Charcoal Grill when it’s 25 degrees outside!

In any case, I just couldn’t wait any longer to join the fun and bake my “NO OVEN” challenge bread.  Of course over this past weekend it was raining and snowing so I had to wait until Monday.  I was working from home for the day prepping for my colonoscopy the next day.  Well, it’s so much fun not being able to eat anything except broth and Jello for a day and a half, especially when ones wife has baked 500 Christmas cookies.  The smell of the baked/smoked bread was almost enough to drive me over the edge :0.

I used my Weber charcoal grill and added some Hickory wood chunks to get a nice smokey flavor and it really came through.  I set the 2 charcoal baskets on each side of the kettle so I could bake the bread on indirect heat.  The only issue I had was the parchment paper caught fire from the wood chunks flaming more than anticipated and burned the bottom of the loaves slightly.

I used an aluminum pan on the bottom of the grill and dumped in 1 1/2 cups of hot water to generate some steam.  I think in hindsight it could have used more steam and it would have helped if it wasn’t so cold outside since I was only able to get the grill up to 425 degrees briefly.  Usually I can easily get it to over 500 degrees.

All in all, when I was finally able to try a piece this afternoon after my procedure, the taste was amazing.  The smokey flavor is incredible and even the slightly charred bottom is not bad :).  The onion really shines in this one and the cream cheese really created a soft moist crumb.

The crumb could have been more open but I think my timing was off a little since I was working while trying to bake this as well and probably should have gotten it in the barbecue earlier.

dsc_0081

dsc_0080

dsc_0078

dsc_0076

spelt-kamut-onion-cream-cheese-bread-weights

spelt-kamut-onion-cream-cheese-bread

Download the BreadStorm File Here.

dsc_0098

dsc_0088

Levain Directions

Mix all the Levain ingredients together for about 1 minute and cover with plastic wrap.  Let it sit at room temperature for around 7-8 hours or until the starter has doubled.  I usually do this the night before.  Use immediately or refrigerate for up to 2 days.

 Main Dough Procedure

Mix the flours,  cracked wheat,  and 400 grams of the Ale together in your mixer or by hand until it just starts to come together, maybe about 1 minute.  Let it rest in your work bowl covered for 60 minutes or longer.  I actually left it for around 2.5 hours.  Next add the salt, starter (cut into about 7-8 pieces), honey, cream cheese and balance of the Ale, and mix on low for 5 minutes.  Add the caramelized onions and mix until incorporated.  Remove the dough from your bowl and place it in a lightly oiled bowl or work surface and do several stretch and folds.  Let it rest covered for 10-15 minutes and then do another stretch and fold.  Let it rest another 10-15 minutes and do one additional stretch and fold.  After a total of 2 hours place your covered bowl in the refrigerator and let it rest for 12 to 24 hours.  (If you have a proofer you can set it to 80 degrees and follow above steps but you should be finished in 1 hour to 1.5 hours).

When you are ready to bake remove the bowl from the refrigerator and let it set out at room temperature still covered for 1.5 to 2 hours.  Remove the dough and shape as desired.   Place your dough into your proofing basket(s) and cover with a moist tea towel or plastic wrap sprayed with cooking spray.  The dough will take 1.5 to 2 hours depending on your room temperature.  Let the dough dictate when it is read to bake not the clock.

As I mentioned above I used my Weber charcoal kettle grill but you can also bake in your oven as well.

dsc_0116

Leave a Reply

