Pain au Levain Baguettes with WW Alfanso Style

8 Oct

dsc_0043It’s been a while since my last baguette bake and I’ve always admired the beauties coming out of fellow TFL baker Alfanso’s oven.

I decided to give his formula adapted from master baker Jeffrey Hamelman a go.  I only changed up a few things by using KAF French style flour instead of bread flour and I also used fresh whole wheat I milled myself.  The other things I changed were using a bulk ferment of the dough overnight in the refrigerator and also using my mixer on low for a nice 6 minute ride around the bowl.  I then did stretch and folds at 3 intervals over a 2 hour period before putting it in the refrigerator to sleep until the next evening.  I followed my normal procedure of letting the dough rest in my proofer set at 79 degrees for 1 hour.  I then pre-shaped into rounds, let them rest for 15 minutes, finished shaping and let them rest in a couche for about an hour before baking.

My shaping didn’t come out all that bad.  Could still use a bit of practice so I guess I need to make baguettes more often :0.

dsc_0045

The taste was fantastic with a nice sour tang and a nutty flavor from the whole wheat and small percentage of rye.  I couldn’t be more happy with the crumb on this one as it was as open as you can ask for without going overboard.

I will definitely be making this one again and probably changing up some of the flour combinations in the future as well.

Thanks Alfanso for your inspiration and advice.

dsc_0049

2 Responses to “Pain au Levain Baguettes with WW Alfanso Style”

  1. Karin Anderson October 8, 2016 at 5:27 pm #

    Nice and hole-y baguettes! I haven’t had time to visit TFL too often, lately, so I’m not quite up to date with the newer members anymore. My TFL “baguette hero” was Don D.
    Btw, the next World Bread Day blog event is upcoming on October 16th. You can write in English (or German): http://www.kochtopf.me/world-bread-day-2016-einladung-invitation
    I’m just working on my post (recipe from Stanley Ginsberg’s “The Rye Baker”)

    • mookielovesbread October 8, 2016 at 6:01 pm #

      Thanks Karin.
      I will check out the world bread day.
      I haven’t baked anything from the new book other than when I was a recipe tester. Look forward to your post!

Leave a Reply

