Sprouted Wheat Pain Au Levain (Bread Revolution)

19 Nov

DSC_0002This is my third attempt of the Pain Au Levain formula from Peter Reinhart’s new book “Bread Revolution”.

The first 2 did not come out correctly.  I now suspect the main culprit was that I did not dry out the sprouted winter wheat berries enough and the flour was too moist.  This time I let it dry out using a fan for a day and half and the bread came out much better.

Closeup1

I used my AP starter and did not add any yeast.  I also let the bulk dough rise for a bit in my proofer set at 80 degrees before refrigerating.  The next day I let it sit out for an hour before shaping and proofing at 80 degrees for around 3 hours.

Closeup2

I did not achieve much oven spring but the crumb is nice and moist and not gummy like the last bake.

This tastes like nothing I have baked ever before.  The sprouted grains really do add such a unique flavor.  I can’t wait to start experimenting with different sprouted grains when I return from my annual pilgrimage to North Carolina for Thanks Giving.

Happy Holidays to everyone.

Crumb1

CrumbCloseup

5 Responses to “Sprouted Wheat Pain Au Levain (Bread Revolution)”

  1. Karin Anderson November 20, 2014 at 9:59 am #

    Looks great to me!
    I just got the book, and made my first Sprouted Wheat Bread – not the levain, yet. Like you I was amazed at the difference in taste! I’m not the greatest fan of 100% whole wheat breads, unless they undergo a long fermentation and have a bit of sweetener. But the sprouted wheat has a really pleasant taste without this process.
    I bought the flour at our natural food store – very expensive, but now I thinking of making my own.
    Isn’t it nice that there are always new things to learn in bread baking?

  2. mookielovesbread November 20, 2014 at 10:17 am #

    Thanks Karin. It’s even better the second day. I can’t get over how naturally sweet the bread is. I hope you try the SD version and try sprouting yourself. The flavor is probably even better with fresh flour.
    As soon as this rye book testing is over we will have to come up with a new challenge. I really enjoyed your last one.
    When I get back from my Thanksgiving trip I will have to start sprouting some other grains. I want to make a porridge bread with sprouted flour which I think will taste amazing.

    Regards,
    Ian

    • Karin Anderson December 8, 2014 at 2:07 pm #

      Just got the dehydrator I ordered, and a new mixer – the old Cuisinart spontaneously combusted. So off to sprouting and drying my own grains. My long suffering husband asked only where this large contraption now should go (the dehydrator), but we found a place in our guest bedroom 🙂

      • mookielovesbread December 9, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

        Which dehydrator did you buy? What about your new mixer? I have the Bosch a Plus which I love. Can’t wait to hear about your sprouting adventure.

        • Karin Anderson December 9, 2014 at 3:29 pm #

          I bought an 9-tray Excalibur – I thought of larger amounts so that I can bake breads for sale. I want to try it with rye first.
          Just preparing a Mexican inspired Tartine bread with amaranth porridge, pumpkin seeds and peanuts.

Leave a Reply

