80% Sourdough Rye from Hamelman’s Bread-Detmolder Method

7 Apr

MainAfter returning from the first ever TFL gathering in Lexington MA last weekend I wanted to use some the rye starter that Varda gave me to make a rye bread.  Dave Snyder posted his latest bake of the above bread on The Fresh Loaf this past week and pushed me over the edge to try it myself.  You can find the recipe at his original post here.

This recipe uses a three-step build process called the Detmolder  process which by using precise temperatures for each build is supposed to optimize the development of yeast growth, lactic acid and acetic acid production.

David had described his latest bake as having an almost sweet taste without that much sour flavor.  My bake to me seemed to have a much more sour flavor than intended.  I think I might have rushed the second build a bit which could have effected the final outcome.

In any case, the crumb came out about where I think it should for such a high percentage rye bread.  The crust ended up much more thick than I think it should.

This type of dough is docked instead of scored and you only use steam for the first 5 minutes of the bake.

Before-Scoring

Before Docking Dough

Docked

Docked Dough

Docking-Tool

I used my knife tool to dock the dough. Worked fine.

I will have to try this one again and see if I get the same result.

Crumb

CrumbCloseup

Submitted to Yeast Spotting.

3 Responses to “80% Sourdough Rye from Hamelman’s Bread-Detmolder Method”

  1. Anna April 7, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    Hi,

    I am a baker from MA. I would love to join the group and meet people who bake. Can you, please, connect me?

    Thank you!

    • mookielovesbread April 7, 2013 at 7:00 pm #

      Hi Anna, right now it is just a group of people who visit the website http://www.thefreshloaf.com
      I suggest you pay a visit to the site and you will be amazed with the wealth of baking information on it. There are many people on it who are happy to help bakers of all experience levels and when we have another get together you will be alerted and would be more than welcome to attend. This was a lot of fun and I’m sure we will do it again soon.
      Ian

      • Anna May 1, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

        Thank you so much, Ian! I will be glad to join the group and get together.

Leave a Reply

