German Style WEIZENBRÖTCHEN Bread

25 Apr

Main A few days ago my wife decided to make her delicious meat sauce and I volunteered to make a bread to go with it.  I didn’t have time to create a starter so I made a straight dough based on the German Style rolls I have made before which I posted about here.

I of course had to change it up a little since that’s kind of what I like to do.  I added some freshly ground whole Kamut flour and used honey instead of sugar.

I wanted a nice light crunchy bread that would be good to mop up the heavy tomato based meat sauce and this did just the trick.

The Kamut gave the bread a little extra nutty flavor while adding a nice yellow hue to the final bread.

For a relatively quick bread without a starter this really did come out pretty good and is worth a try.

Closeup

Formula

German Weizenbrotchen Bread (%)

German Weizenbrotchen Bread (weights)

Pig

Porky was happy to eat the crumbs of this fine bread :)

Crumb1

CrumbCloseup

This post has been submitted to the Yeast Spotting Site here: http://www.wildyeastblog.com/category/yeastspotting/.

2 Responses to “German Style WEIZENBRÖTCHEN Bread”

  1. Karin Anderson April 26, 2014 at 11:19 pm #

    Nice bread! I like Kamut, too, it tastes nuttier than whole wheat.

    • mookielovesbread April 27, 2014 at 9:37 am #

      Thanks Karin. I love Kamut, especially the freshly ground version. Appreciate your comments as always and your inspiration.
      Regards,
      ian

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 310 other followers

