Jewish Deli Rye from ITJB Take 2 with Onions

18 Jan

FINALOne of my more popular posts has been my original version of this bread following the recipe from Inside the Jewish Bakery.  I promised one of my commentators I would try this again so I can answer some of her questions on how to utilize this formula for a bakery program she is running.

I used freshly milled rye flour in place of the white rye flour in the original recipe and I also added 25 grams of dehydrated onions which were re-hydrated by mixing with the water for the dough.  I used some of my recently made rye starter at 100% hydration and compensated for the lower 80% hydration called for by adjusting the flour and water slightly.

I found the starter and the dough to be very easy to handle and the end result of the bake was probably one of the best ryes I have made to date.  The crumb was nice and moist and the onion flavor was just enough to make this the perfect bread for a hot pastrami sandwich with melted Munster Cheese.

Closeup

If you have not tried this one, you don’t know what you are missing!  There is no comparison between this rye bread and the sorry excuse they sell in the supermarket.

This post has been submitted to the Yeast Spotting Site here: http://www.wildyeastblog.com/category/yeastspotting

Crumb

3 Responses to “Jewish Deli Rye from ITJB Take 2 with Onions”

  1. Karin Anderson January 24, 2014 at 9:49 am #

    Isn’t it fun to tweak formulas until finally you are satisfied with it? Most of my bakery recipes have undergone many tweaks, so sometimes they have only a slight resemblance to the original formulas.
    I don’t care too much for the blandness of white rye, and can imagine that your version tastes better.
    I just baked a marbled rye Peter Reinhart presented in the latest Fine Cooking edition (my husband loves Reubens), more or less out of curiosity. I didn’t realize before that the rye content was only 25%, and it was white rye, dyed with cocoa, for the dark dough. It just came out of the oven. If I like it halfways, I’ll try it next with medium rye.

    • mookielovesbread January 25, 2014 at 8:53 am #

      Thanks for the comment Karin. I have made the Peter Reinhart marble rye and was not very impressed with it. I think this recipe using medium rye or if you can use fresh milled like I did, make a huge difference and really improves the taste dramatically. I look forward to hearing what you think if you get a chance to try it.
      Regards,
      Ian

      • Karin Anderson January 25, 2014 at 11:23 am #

        Yes, I wasn’t impressed with it, either. It looked pretty, but that was it. I don’t care for too much molasses, when there is no other strong taste to balance it.
        Just baked a loaf of the Wild Rice Sourdoughs, one for us, its one of my favorites. Now I have to brave the elements to get the breads to the store. It freeeezing and very windy.
        Take care,
        Karin

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 298 other followers

