Hamburger and Super Size Hot Dog Rolls

22 May

RollcloseupIt’s Memorial Day this weekend believe it or not.  Doesn’t feel like it’s almost June, but it is certainly time to grill some hot dogs and hamburgers.  I hate using store-bought rolls since I know I can make ones myself that are far superior.

My wife insists that the only rolls worthy of using for hamburgers and hot dogs must be light white bread rolls.    I have been real busy at work so it’s been difficult to find time to bake as much as I would like so a quick yeasted roll recipe would have to do.  With that in mind I adapted a recipe from Peter Reinhart’s Artisan Breads Every Day and added a few twists.

I decided to add some parmesan cheese powder and some dried chives just to make it a little interesting.

I used the overnight retardation method which helps build some extra flavor.

I must say that overall these came out nice and flavorful and were perfect for our hamburger and hot dog dinner the other day.

Hamburger-and-Hotdog-Rolls

RolllsGroup

Directions

Mix flours with yeast to combine.  Next add remainder of the ingredients keeping about 30 grams of milk back.  Mix on low-speed or by hand for 1 minute and let the dough rest for 5-10 minutes to absorb the flour.

Add the balance of the water if needed and mix for another 4 minutes.  The dough should come together and be scraping the side of the mixing bowl and be nice and fairly smooth but still tacky.

Remove the dough to your work surface and knead by hand for 1 minute.  Do about 3-4 stretch and folds and put in a well oiled bowl or container with a cover.  Put it in your refrigerator immediately.

You can keep it in your refrigerator for about 24 to 36 hours.  I ended up baking it in the morning so it was only in my refrigerator for around 14 -15 hours.   The dough should double while in the refrigerator.

When ready to bake the rolls or bread, take it out of the refrigerator and immediately weigh out your pieces or loaves and shape as desired.  I made simple round rolls and some hot dog buns.  I think it is time for me to buy a hot dog pan since I can’t seem to get the size right and ended up with gigantic size hot dog rolls.  Next, let them rise for 1 hour on a cookie sheet with parchment paper.

After 45 minutes turn your oven up to 350 degrees F. and prepare your rolls as desired.  I beat 1 whole egg mixed with a little water and put an egg wash on each roll.  At the 1 hour or so mark pop them in the oven with steam and turn once after about 15 minutes.  These should take about 25 minutes to cook thoroughly.

Let them cool on wire rack for at least half an hour before digging in if you can wait that long.

This post has been submitted to the Yeast Spotting Site here: http://www.wildyeastblog.com/category/yeastspotting/.

Crumb-Shot

7 Responses to “Hamburger and Super Size Hot Dog Rolls”

  1. narf77 May 23, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

    Those hotdog rolls look really wonderful. Time to get Steve to buy some Franks in our next shopping adventure and see if we can’t have our hotdogs Mookie style :)

    • mookielovesbread May 23, 2013 at 8:00 pm #

      Go for it! Mookie will be very happy! Thanks for your comments as always.
      Ian

  2. Karin Anderson May 23, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

    Those buns look very nice, and I like your idea with the parmesan. After enoying 3 weeks of sunshine in Germany, we are back in Maine with rain and cold weather. But at least I can bake again.

    • mookielovesbread May 23, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

      Thanks Karin…these were simple and fun to make and hard to stop eating. Look forward to reading about your next bake.
      The weatherman in NY has not been much better! Last weekend they said sunshine and some clouds…well I ended up working in my garden both days in the rain. This weekend is sounding just as dismal so hopefully they will be wrong again.

  3. www.ando.com June 11, 2013 at 5:33 pm #

    When I initially commented I appear to have clicked on
    the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment is added I receive 4
    emails with the same comment. There has to be an easy
    method you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

    • mookielovesbread June 16, 2013 at 9:12 am #

      I’m sorry but I am not sure how to fix this for you. I’m sure there must be an unsubscribe button you can hit.

  4. Hildegard January 25, 2014 at 11:26 am #

    “Hamburger and Super Size Hot Dog Rolls | mookielovesbread” ended up being a marvelous blog,
    can not wait to look at a lot more of ur blog posts. Time to squander a lot of
    time online haha. I appreciate it -Randy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 465 other followers

