Coffee Lover’s Dream Multi-Grain Sourdough

24 Jan

closeup1      I just returned from a 2 week business trip to China and after refreshing my starters I decided to make a coffee flavored bread that also was rich in multi-grains.  I have had great success using soakers in this style bread in the past so this was no different  I used malted rye berries, spelt kernels, buckwheat groats and soft white wheat berries all soaked in 240 grams of chocolate raspberry truffle flavored coffee.

For the starter I used my white 65% hydration starter and added coffee, pumpernickel flour and white rye.  To continue with the all coffee theme I also used coffee in the main dough along with an assortment of flours plus some dehydrated onions that I mixed in with the coffee before adding to the dough.

The end result was nice dark, rich, moist and coffee flavored bread.  If you don’t like coffee you will run away screaming from this one, but if you can’t get enough Java in your system, give this one a try.closeup2

Soaker

30 grams Buckwheat Groats (bought at Whole Foods)

30 grams Spelt Kernels (Berries…not sure which)

30 grams Malted Rye Berries

20 grams Soft White Wheat Berries

240 grams Hot Coffee (I used Chocolate Raspberry Truffle)

Mix coffee in a bowl with other ingredients and let sit covered at room temperature for 24 hours.

Starter

71 grams Seed (Mine is 65% AP Flour Starter)

142 grams AP Flour

85 grams Pumpernickel Flour

70 grams White Rye Flour

151 grams Coffee (85 – 90 degrees F.)

Mix seed with coffee to break up for a few seconds and then mix in flour until the starter forms a smooth dough consistency.  Put it in a lightly oiled bowl and loosely cover and leave at room temperature for at least 10 hours.  The starter should double in volume.  Put the starter in the refrigerator for up to 1-2 days or use it immediately.

Main Dough

Ingredients

425 grams Starter from above (all of the starter)

300 grams European Style Flour (KAF)  (Sub Bread Flour if you don’t have this)

150 grams Spelt Flour

100 grams Whole Wheat

80 grams Graham Flour

20 grams Walnut Oil

370 grams Coffee (90 degrees F.)

14 grams Sea Salt (or table salt)

All of the Soaker from above (make sure to drain the soaker thoroughly)

Procedure

I mixed  the flours together with all the coffee except for 50 grams and let them autolyes for 30 minutes.    I then added the levain, oil and the soaker and the rest of the coffee with the salt and mixed on speed #1 for 1 minute and #2 for 4 minutes.  I then did a stretch and fold, rested the dough uncovered for 10 minutes.  I then did another stretch and fold, covered the dough and let it rest for 10 minutes.  I did one more stretch and fold and put it in a lightly oiled bowl for 2 hours.  I then put it in the fridge overnight.

The next day I let the dough sit out at room temperature for 2 hours.  After 2 hours I formed it into loaves and put them in floured bannetons and let them rise covered for 2 hours.

Score the loaves as desired and prepare your oven for baking with steam.

ScoredBatardscored-boule

I then baked on my oven stone with steam at 450 degrees until both loaves were golden brown and reached an internal temperature of 200 – 210 degrees F.

Let it cool on a bakers rack for at least 2 hours or longer before diving in.

This bread has been submitted to Yeast Spotting here at http://www.wildyeastblog.com/

crumbGroupFinalHouseretouched

5 Responses to “Coffee Lover’s Dream Multi-Grain Sourdough”

  1. w February 3, 2013 at 6:01 am #

    wow, that sounds like a whole lot of flavours going on there! what with the coffee, the grains, the onions and even walnut oil! I love coffee so i’m intrigued. Is the coffee taste really strong? in a good, oh yummy, this-tastes-like-solid-espresso, way? or a faintly bitter way?

    And you fed your starter coffee?? that’s new for me. Did it like it? Was there any departure from the norm (I mean, in fermentation time, growth etc.). I’ve always wanted to experiment with different liquids, not just flour, just haven’t got the time.

    When you say 151g coffee in the starter and 375g coffee in the main dough—what sort of coffee? Strong coffee? instant coffee?

    it reminds me of ‘quick rye’ recipes that use coffee and onions to get the rye colour and taste.

    And finally, did you make that cute little house ?:)

    • mookielovesbread February 3, 2013 at 8:44 am #

      Hi, and thanks for your comments. I used flavored coffee from my Keurig collection which were a little sweet and not too strong at all. I found the coffee flavor was present in the overall dough but did not overpower it. Give it a try and let me know what you think. I have made several other bakes with coffee but not in the starter. It did not effect the fermentation at all except to impart some extra coffee flavor.

      Thanks again.
      Ian

  2. w February 3, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

    not sure when i’ll have the time to get round to this but when i do, i’ll definitely let you know. coffee in the starter huh :)) Very nice bakes (and cats) you have btw. Oh and i just saw that shot of the oozing cheese sitting atop the bun. if that doesnt make one hungry…

    • mookielovesbread February 3, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

      Thanks. Yeah the oozing cheese….I already ate 2 rolls before I have even left for my party :).

  3. pia February 20, 2013 at 8:52 am #

    Many thanks for this great recipe. We managed to get it but it felt superb: -)
    I have a web log through food meals average Joe if you happen to engaged. I have a blog with cake recipes myself if you are interested. You can find it at http://recipes-for-food.com/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

