San Francisco Sourdough Bread–from Dave Snyder Take 4.5

3 Apr

After reading about Dave’s never-ending quest to create the perfect San Francisco Sourdough bread I felt it was time to give his latest recipe a whirl.  I have never been to SF so I don’t know exactly what the final bread should taste like other than by his description.

I tried very hard to follow his exact recipe but alas my string of good luck continued and my refrigerator decided to mimic an oven.  I was forced to let the bulk ferment dough rest in my mini beer/assorted alcohol refrigerator instead of the shaped loaves.  I let the dough bulk ferment over night and the next afternoon while I waited for my refrigerator to be fixed I let the dough rest at room temperature for a couple of hours.  I then formed the loaves into Boules and let them rise in their bannetons inside my oven with a bowl of hot water for 3.5 hours.

The dough was nice an elastic and puffed up very nicely.  Unfortunately I didn’t realize that the risen loaves would be too big to fit in my oven at the same time.  I had to adjust the loaves while the oven was nice and hot and subsequently one of the loaves was hanging off the baking stone for a few minutes causing it to sag slightly.

The final result was an excellent crust and a nice open and light crumb.  I did however discover the first loaf I cut into had a mysterious hole running through a big part of the bread, almost like someone or thing was trying to dig its way to China.

Overall the bread turned out excellent.  I would have expected it to be slightly more sour though and I’m not sure why it was so mild.  It could be due to the fairly new converted starter I used.  I turned my 65% AP starter to Dave’s multi flour starter at 50% so maybe it wasn’t mature enough.

You can find Dave’s recipe  here: http://www.thefreshloaf.com/node/27982/san-franciscostyle-sourdough-bread-two-ways-3252012.

Thanks again Dan for an excellent recipe!

This post has been submitted to the Yeast Spotting Site here: http://www.wildyeastblog.com/category/yeastspotting

3 Responses to “San Francisco Sourdough Bread–from Dave Snyder Take 4.5”

  1. My Italian Smörgåsbord (Aka Barbara) April 13, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    I can see from the big holes the SF style :) really nice loaf, will have to try this method.

    • mookielovesbread April 13, 2012 at 6:51 pm #

      Thanks for the kind words. Give it a try you won’t be disappointed

    • mookielovesbread April 14, 2012 at 10:00 am #

      Thanks Barbara!
      I highly recommend this one.
      Let me know how yours turns out if you give it a try.
      Regards
      Ian

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

