San Joaquin Sourdough–from Dave Snyder

8 Feb

I just recently started following discussions and fellow blog entries on www.thefreshloaf.com.  One of the more popular recipes on the site was by an excellent baker named Dave Snyder.  You can find the original recipe (and this was one of his variations), at the following link: http://www.thefreshloaf.com/node/14140/san-joaquin-sourdough-another-variation-produces-best-flavor-yet.  I do have to say this recipe lived up to all the hype and tasted excellent.  I did end up with some unexpected oven spring that ended up causing the bread to burst slightly but the crumb was excellent and the taste was tangy and nutty with a perfect bite.

The only thing I changed was to retard the dough for around 35 hours instead of 20 since I ended up going over to a friends to watch the Superbowl and didn’t have time to bake the bread until yesterday.  I don’t think it helped or impeded the final outcome.

Thanks again Dan for an excellent recipe!

This post has been submitted to the Yeast Spotting Site here: http://www.wildyeastblog.com/category/yeastspotting

Crumb Shot

2 Responses to “San Joaquin Sourdough–from Dave Snyder”

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your website?

    My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from a lot of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks a lot!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 256 other followers

